Quarter 3 Wrap up & Quarter 4 Goals

It’s October 15th. Exactly three months ago, I made a list of some of the goals I wanted to accomplish in the third quarter of 2016. Looking back, I actually accomplished quite a lot. A lot has changed in my life. I moved into an apartment, started at a new school and a new job. However, I did not meet as many writing goals as I would have liked to, so that’s something I’m really going to focus on in the next three months going forward! Here are the goals that I wrote down for myself for last quarter and whether I accomplished them or not:

  1. Have new draft of my current project finished and begin editing it- No. I unfortunately did not make much progress on this goal
  2. Go on an hour walk 4 days a week- Yes.  I pretty much walk everywhere now.
  3. Go to the gym at least 3 days a week- No. I got kind of lazy once I started at my new school, but in the last week of September I started going to the gym regularly once again. I’m counting this as a win.
  4. Put $50 towards travel fund every month- No. Haha, this didn’t happen. Living on your own costs a lot! I don’t have any extra money to do this right now.
  5. Write posts on this blog 1-2 times a week- No. I’m lucky if I’ve been able to make a post for this blog once a month.
  6. Begin plotting a new novel- Yes. I have a rough idea for a novel and I’m in the planning phase of this project
  7. Complete first draft of a short story for a literary magazine- No. Although I’ve been drafting a short story on and off, I have not submitted any stories to literary magazines.
  8. Join a club at school- Yes. I’ve joined my school’s literary magazine
  9. Clean out old clothes and donate them to charity- Yes. I did this!
  10. Research and come up with a list of publishing agencies I would be interested in interning at- Yes. I did indeed do this. I even contacted an editor at a local publishing company and interviewed her. It was for a school project, but I learned quite a bit and it was a great experience.
  11. Read at least 5 classic books- No. I did not meet this goal, unfortunately. The only classics I’ve read in the past three months include Jane Eyre, Beowulf and Hamlet

So, I completed 6/11 goals. I don’t think I did a bad job for my first time using this system of keeping track of my goals. Next quarter I hope to do even better, though! Here are my goals for the last quarter of 2016. I’m carrying over some of the goals that I did not complete from the previous quarter (with slight alterations) and I’m adding new ones as well.

Quarter 4 Goals:

  1. Complete the new outline for the rewrite of my current project
  2. Complete the outline for my new project that I will begin during NaNoWriMo
  3. Write 30,000 words of my new project during NaNoWriMo
  4. Post on this blog every Friday
  5. Finish the draft of my current short story and edit it
  6. Submit my short story to literary magazines
  7. Read at least 5 classic books (the ones from the previous quarter do not count)
  8. Continue going to the gym 3-4 times a week and eating healthy
  9. Begin volunteering somewhere in town
  10. Complete at least one freelance job on UpWork (I already have an account all set up)
  11. Join a professional organization for people in the field of Publishing
  12. Research and apply to at least 3 internships
  13. Read a book on editing
  14. Read a book on the craft of writing
  15. Take professional pictures for LinkedIn and Blog

I know some of these goals are a little ambitious, but I don’t feel like it’s wrong to aim high. On the other hand, a lot of the goals are very doable and I don’t think I will have a problem completing most of them. I’m going to aim to complete these by January 1st so I can start my quarter on the first of the new year!

What are some of your goals for the last quarter of 2016?

-Jenny

