Prologue

DISCLAIMER: I’m no expert writer. I don’t claim to be. I haven’t published anything, don’t have any credentials to boast about (unless you count winning the young author’s competition at my middle school in 8th grade, heh heh) and I’m only 19. Everything I learned about writing I learned through reading fiction, YouTube videos, podcasts, classes and my own experience I gained through personal writing projects. The information you find on this blog won’t be from a professional, but rather from a young writer who’s still learning the craft of writing, just like I bet many of you are if you’re reading this. Despite that, I hope you stick with me and are willing to learn along side me. It’s going to be a fun adventure…


 

I’ve been wanting to do this for a while. For the past year or so, I’ve been an avid watcher of BookTube. If you don’t know what BookTube is, pretty much it’s a term used for people on YouTube who post videos of themselves reviewing books, talking about books in general, and/or discuss writing as well. I enjoy watching these videos because it feels like whenever I go online I’m a part of a book club. It’s just fun to listen to others talk about their opinions about books that I’ve read or books that I may have never heard of but now want to read after watching their video.

I love the concept of BookTube and have wanted to do something similar, but as a writer I of course prefer the medium of writing. Also, I’m just kinda shy. So here I am! That’s why I’ve created this blog; to have an outlet to talk about books and writing. Specifically, though, this blog will serve a few different purposes:

Review books- Both the good and the bad, the old and the new. I’ll talk about my reading habits and what kinds of books I like in a future post, but just know that I will post reviews for a wide variety of books. These will probably range from Jane Eyre to House of Leaves to Into the Wild to Me Before You. Yeah, I like a LOT of different genres… In the upcoming weeks, I also plan to post some reviews for ARCS (Advanced Readers Copies) that I received at Book Con 2016.

Discuss topics in books-  This is something I didn’t even know I was interested in until I started watching BookTube. There’s so many interesting things to just discuss about in books and the book community and this is the place for me to do it (I mean, the average person doesn’t really care about this sort of thing). For example, diversity in books, book to movie adaptations, what kinds of characters I like/dislike and even what kinds of covers draw me in. I love this sort of thing!

Writing- This is kind of a broad stroke of a topic because there’s SO MANY things I’m going to blog about under the topic of writing on here. I’ll keep you all updated on my own writing (and the process of publishing, eventually…hopefully), the nitty gritty stuff that goes into creating a novel like developing characters and worlds,  even the technical side of writing.

I don’t want to completely limit myself, though. If I want to talk about another topic that may be loosely related to reading and writing, I probably will!

To end this, I’m so happy that I finally decided to make this blog because I have a lot of ideas to share with you all! If you read this far, thank you so much. Please continue to check back here for updates. Right now, I don’t have any schedule set for when I’ll be posting, but I’m going to try to post something here every 2-3 days. I’ll see how that goes.

-Jenny

Leave a Reply

